The Chakra Series: Heart Chakra 101

The Chakra Series: Heart Chakra 101

What is the Heart Chakra?

The Heart Chakra, or Anāhata (from Sanskrit meaning “unstruck, unhurt or unbeaten” ) is located in the chest just above the heart.  It is the fourth of the main chakras in the body and is the center of the seven chakra system. The Heart Chakra serves as a connection between the lower three physical body chakras (Root, Sacral and Solar Plexus), and the upper three  spiritual chakras (Throat, Third Eye, and Crown). In this way the Heart chakra is the bridge between the earth (physical) and spirit. 

The Heart chakra glows green (although it is associated with pink as well) and is connected to the air element.

This is your center of love, joy and compassion, empathy, and forgiveness. When balanced, you may feel a love of self and others, acceptance, patience, and you are open to love from others.  

But when unbalanced, some feelings that may arise are loneliness, insecurity, fear, unhappiness, an inability to accept love. You may grow distant and shut down emotionally, hold grudges, or become overly defensive. 

If you suffer from any of these consistently, please seek professional help. You are worthy and deserving of help. Then use some of the tools listed below. You are loved! 

Connect and Balance your Heart Chakra


There are so many breathing exercises for the Heart Chakra, but this is one I recently discovered and I LOVE it. If you have taken one of my yoga classes recently, you already know it!

It takes just a minute. And it is an amazing practice before Savasana or before bed because if you are lying down, they body instantly relaxes with this practice. But don’t let that discourage you! You can do this any time of day… obviously not when driving or handling heavy machinery though :)

  • So sit in a comfortable position, or lie down. 
  • Close the eyes. 
  • Take a free breath in and out. 
  • Then breathe into the heart. Breathe out through your hands. 
  • Breathe in through the knees. Breathe out through the feet.
  • Breathe in through the left foot. Breath out through the right hand. 
  • Breathe in through the right foot.  Breathe out through the left hand. 
  • Breathe in through the throat. Breathe out through the top of the head. 
  • Breathe in through the heart. 
  • Breathe out through the heart. 
  • Breathe in through the heart. 
  • Breathe out through the heart. 



We are capable of rewiring our thought patterns. It simply takes focus and energy. So here are some simple affirmations for the Heart chakra. Take what works for you and leave the rest-

  • I am worthy of love. 
  • I release and let go of all resentment. 
  • I forgive myself  and others for mistakes. 
  • There is an infinite supply of love. 
  • My heart radiates love and compassion. 
  • I choose to be kind to myself. 
  • I choose to connect, not to detach. 
  • I love life, and also life to love me. 
  • I get back the love I give, multiplied. 
  • I live in balance with others. 
  • I am deeply compassionate and allow myself the grace of imperfection.
  • I am love. 



Moving in anyway that brings a smile to your face is the way to go here. Whether it is yoga, dance, weightlifting, or none of the above, if you have found some movement that gets you into your feeling body and you can express GRATITUDE to your body in whatever that is, you have already won! 

Unsure of where to start? Getting out into the wood or forest for a short hike works too! Surrounding yourself with all that green (it is the color of the chakra, sooo..) plus walking around is some *primo* Heart Chakra therapy :)

Don’t forget, there is always some yoga to get into the Heart Chakra as well. 

 Puppy pose- Anahatasana
Puppy Pose- Anahatasana
Bridge Pose- Setu Bandha Sarvangasana
Bridge Pose- Setu Bandha Sarvangasana
Wheel Pose- Chakrasana
Wheel Pose- Chakrasana
Sphinx Pose- Bhujangasana
Sphinx Pose- Bhujangasana
Upward Facing Dag- Urdhva Mukha Svanasana
Upward Facing Dag- Urdhva Mukha Svanasana
Reclined Butterfly- Supta Baddha Konasana
Reclined Butterfly- Supta Baddha Konasana
Fish Pose- Matsyasana
Fish Pose- Matsyasana 


Yellow stones can be used to meditate on the Heart Chakra, such as Green Aventurine, Rose quartz, Emerald, Peridot, and Amazonite!

Green Aventurine Ring
Rose Quartz Ring
Emerald Ring
Peridot Ring
Amazonite Rings

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published