The Chakra Series: Root Chakra 101

Root Chakra 101 Drishti Handmade

What is the Root Chakra?

Well, first things first…

What are chakras?

Chakra means “wheel” in Sanskrit. The basic idea is that we have these wheels of energy running through the body. The most widely acknowledged Chakra system is that of seven chakra wheels starting at the base of the spine and moving up to just above the crown of the head. Each wheel needs to be functioning properly for the rest of the system to work, like a system of gears or the churning of a mill wheel. If there is a blockage at any of the points, or if one is loose and spinning too quickly, the entire system is in disarray and not functioning optimally. 

Hence, the idea of Chakra Balancing. And like a building, the foundation has to be sturdy AF to support the rest o the structure.  

So let’s get back to…

What’s the Root Chakra?

The Root Chakra, or Mūlādhāra (from the sanskrit words mula meaning “root”, and adhara meaning “support”) is located at the very base of the spine, think the tailbone. It is connected to the color red, or black. At it’s very most basic, it is the center of physiological needs. Think the base of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, that bottom tier is food, water, shelter, one’s safety and security. 

That is the chakra at it’s most basic. It goes beyond that. It is the first chakra of earthy matter, of physicality and connecting to the earth and body. As it is the most instinctual of the chakras, it is connected to fight or flight and therefore emotional needs such as fear and trust, specifically trust that those in your immediate circle care for you. 

Imbalances in this chakra (remember I am not a doctor or therapist and I do not pretend to be one) are associated with anxiety, fears, nightmares, helplessness and feelings of unworthiness. These connected to the lack of trust that you are safe and your needs will be met, and that the idea of limited hope for the future. 

If you suffer from any of these consistently, please seek professional help. You are worthy and deserving of help. Then use some of the tools listed below. 

To sum up the Root Chakra provides the links between our energetic system and the physical world and is our base for our life force energy. The energies of the Root Chakra help us to feel grounded and connected to this Earth, giving us a place for our life to ‘take root’ and for the flow of energies to propel us forward on our life journey. A balanced Root Chakra creates a developed personal integrity, self-esteem and sense of belonging and well-being.

Connect and Balance your Root Chakra


The easiest way to connect with your Root Chakra is with breathing, pranayama. As it is so closely tied to fight or flight and anxiety, spending a couple of minutes of with the breath is an irreplaceable tool (and it is free!). Turn off the fight or flight sympathetic nervous system and switch to the parasympathetic by focusing on lengthening the exhales. The most basic breath pattern for this is the 4-4-5 breath. 

Breathe in for the count of 4…3…2…1.

Hold the inhale at the top for 4…3…2…1.

Exhale for 5…4…3…2…1.

Repeat this pattern for at least a minute. 

As someone who often deals with anxiety and intrusive, disruptive thought, this breath is a game changer. 


We are capable of rewiring our thought patterns. It simply takes focus and energy. So here are some simple affirmations for the root chakra take what works for you and leave the rest-

With each breath, I release anxiety and fear. 

I am grounded, stable, and protected in this world. 

I am all I need to be be happy. 

I am at home in my body. 

I deserve to be safe. 

I am worthy of love and care. 



That’s just it. Get physical. Move your body. Go for a walk. Or take a shower and notice the water on your skin. Get a massage. Or get your hands in some REAL DIRT. Gardening works wonders.

Gardening for Grounding

Or do a couple yoga poses to brig your root chakra center closer to the earth. These ones are great:

Janu Sirsanasana- head to knee pose. 

Janu Sirsasana- Head to Knee Pose

Malasana- garland pose. 

Malasana Garland Pose Yogi Squat


Baddha Konasana- butterfly pose. 

Badha Konasana Butterfly Pose

Balasana- Childs Pose.

Balasana Childs Pose

Another goodie is tadasana (mountain pose) especially if you are barefoot. Really feel your feet connect to the earth!

Tadasana Mountain Pose 


Red or Black stones are connected to the root chakra. Wear them as a reminder to ground down, repeat your affirmations, or to take that time each day lengthening your exhales. 

Red Jasper

Red Jasper Necklaces


Garnet Earrings

Black Tourmaline



Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published